Maestro Claudio Abbado, the Orchestra’s Founding Music Director, established the EUYO as a world-class institution with the help of its first President, the late Sir Edward Heath KG. Claudio Abbado was succeeded as Music Director by Sir Bernard Haitink in 1994, who in turn was succeeded by the EUYO’s present Music Director, Maestro Vladimir Ashkenazy in 2000.

In addition to the EUYO’s Music Directors, world famous guest conductors have included:

Daniel Barenboim

Leonard Bernstein

James Conlon

Sir Colin Davis

Carlo Maria Giulini

Herbert von Karajan

Gianandrea Noseda

Mstislav Rostropovich

Sir Georg Solti

Herbert Blomstedt

Vasily Petrenko

Herbert von Karajan conducts the Orchestra in Salzburg, 1980